Wheelchair Quilt

by

This is the quilting project I worked on while you guys were at the Saturday Workshop. It took a bit of planning to get the perfect width.

annes-quilt-before-quilting.jpg

It measures 43″ x 64 1/2″ so it will tuck in around the hips and it is long enough to fold around chilled toes. I’ve backed it with fleece to give it a bit more durability and plushness. Also, I’ve rounded the corners to help avoid catching in the wheels.

My sister’s birthday is March 31, so it will have to be machine quilted fairly simply. Any suggestions? I’m leaning to wavy curves or spirals.

I’ve already have a few changes I’ll incorporate into the next version. Fabric choice is first on that list. Also, I think I will play with a secondary stripe and see what optical illusions I can obtain.

Kate

Anne’s Quilt - back

I’m not sure if you can see the quilting… but this is the ‘simple’ quilting I ended up with.

3 Responses to “Wheelchair Quilt”

  1. shoppegirlsheree Says:

    It’s a very graphic quilt. You could go all the way and quilt X’s from the green corners and quilt everything else in the ditch. It would give it a bold statement. For a softer look meandering circles would be nice. Your sister going to love it.

  2. shoppegirlbrenda Says:

    That is so great show Sheree can come up with quilting ideas like “THAT”. That is my biggest hurdle to finishing quilts, figuring out how to quilt them.

  3. Kate Says:

    Whew! I finished quilting my sister’s quilt. I will add a picture of the quilted back, too.

    It is not easy to quilt fleece (my verdict!). I pinned and machine basted as well. However, I ended up picking out almost as much as I quilted! There are a few bunchings and puckers at the back that will just have to do.

    In the end, it is nice and soft and it will be really warm tucked up around her toes. I’ll let you know how the birthday goes.

Leave a Reply

