Baby quilt for my niece

by

One of my summer projects almost finished.  Just need to decide on how I want to machine quilt it.  I am thinking of trying out the new bamboo batting.  Has anyone tried it yet? The bias rectangles gave me some grief and I had to go out and buy new fabric because I was not happy with the results.  On a trip to Shakespeare I found a birangle ruler that made the job go a lot easier.  Now I’m looking for a way to make the bias rectangles with no seam in the middle to eliminate some of the bulk.  Some research and I have found that Elanore Burns has a ruler that allows you to make a triangle in the middle and taking a rectangle and cutting it from one corner kitty corner to the other.  When put it together you can trim up the block to the size you need.  I can’t believe I’m thinking of needing another ruler, but I have fabric to make this same pattern in a queen size!

I hope it's a boy!

I hope it

5 Responses to “Baby quilt for my niece”

  1. Kate Says:

    Beautiful colours! It’s a stunning design and will look fantastic in queen size. Would you be making it with the same colours?

    I haven’t used the bamboo batting but I’ve heard it is very nice to work. Let us know how you like it, if you decide to go that route.

  2. sheree Says:

    A 3-D ultarsound confirmed that it will be a boy due around December 9th. I’m glad as the quilt has a lot of blue in it.

  3. Emily Says:

    This is a beautiful quilt! What is the name of the pattern??? Did you find it in a book?

  4. shoppegirlsheree Says:

    Emily the quilt pattern is called Starry Path and you can find the queen size pattern in the book published by Rodale books in 1993 called Quick & Easy Quiltmaking by Mary Hickey, Nancy J. Martin, Marsha McCloskey & Sara Nephew. I made it smaller and extended the stars into the boarder.

  5. Bubblebeat Says:

    I {don’t|do not} even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was {good|great}. I {don’t|do not} know who you are but {definitely|certainly} {you are|you’re} going to a famous blogger if you {are not|aren’t} already 😉 Cheers!…

    Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and I find It truly useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to give something back and aid others like you aided me….

Leave a Reply

